Help Page / FAQ for user registration platform

Help / FAQ

To use swisscovery and the SLSP-courier, you need to register with SLSP. For this registration, a SWITCH edu-ID account is necessary. SWITCH edu-ID accounts can be used for other services like SWITCHdrive, SWITCHfilesender and SWITCHtube and for accessing services offered by the Swiss universities - so you might already have an account you can reuse for SLSP, especially if you are a member of a Swiss university.

If you already have a SWITCH edu-ID account, you can go directly to the SLSP registration platform and use your account to start the registration.

If you don't have a SWITCH edu-ID account, you can either click on the "Create account" button when trying to log into the SLSP registration platform or go directly to https://eduid.ch/web/registration/ to create an account.

After successful registration with SLSP, you can use your SWITCH edu-ID account for all SLSP libraries (there are no longer separate accounts per library or network).

Frequently Asked Questions

    User registration

    Question: Why do I need a SWITCH edu-ID account to use the SLSP services? The SWITCH edu-ID service allows all students and staff members of higher education institutions and other library users to access many services with one single user account. Instead of asking library users to create yet another account, SLSP decided to rely on the SWITCH edu-ID.

    Question: What are the requirements for creating a SWITCH edu-ID account? SWITCH edu-ID accounts can be created free of charge by everybody who wants to use swisscovery or other services by the Swiss higher education institutions. The only requirement is a valid e-mail address.
    To register with swisscovery, the following additional data are also required:

    • Your name (to identify library users)

    • Your birthdate (to distinguish between users with identical names and to ensure that age-related content can be lent to a person)

    • At least one phone number (to contact the user in case of problems)

    • At least one postal address (to deliver borrowed books via post and as a contact address if the e-mail address is not valid anymore)

    Question: What about users from abroad (outside of Switzerland)? Users without a Swiss postal address can also create a SWITCH edu-ID account. Please note that depending on your place of residence, you might have limited services offered to you by the SLSP libraries.

    Question: I would like to create an account for my company/institution/library? SWITCH edu-ID can only be used for personal accounts. If you need a non-personal account for your company/institution/library, please request an account for SLSP via swisscovery@slsp.ch. Like personal accounts, non-personal accounts can be used for all SLSP libraries.

    Question: I don't have an e-mail address. How can I use swisscovery? Registration at swisscovery requires an e-mail address. If you dont have one or you are unable to use it for registration in SWITCH edu-ID, you can ask your library for assistance in setting up an email address. Some libraries also offer the option to register without an e-mail adress, however in these exceptional cases swisscovery can only be used with restricted rights (no document delivery, no courier services etc.).

    Creation / management of a SWITCH edu-ID account

    Please see https://help.switch.ch/eduid/faqs/?lang=en for instructions and a FAQ for creating and managing your SWITCH edu-ID account. If you have problems with your account, please contact SWITCH directly via eduid-support@switch.ch.

    To review your account or update your data, log into the SWITCH edu-ID account administration: https://eduid.ch/

    If you are a university student or university employee, you can link your SWITCH edu-ID with your university identity during account creation (or alternatively at a later stage):

    Screenshot of account linking

    Question: What happens with my swisscovery account if I update my data in SWITCH edu-ID? Data updates which are relevant for swisscovery are automatically transferred when you change, add or delete your data in the SWITCH edu-ID account administration. This can take up to 5 minutes and changes may only be visible in swisscovery after you login in again.

    Question: Why should I link my SWITCH edu-ID account with my university identity? There are two main reasons for this:

    • If your university provides you with a student's/employee ID card which you can use as a library card and if your university provides this information to SWITCH edu-ID, this data can be transferred to SLSP. This allows you to use your card right away in all SLSP libraries without first adding the library card n yourself during registration or at the library desk.

    • Some SLSP libraries offer special fulfilment conditions to university members. For this, swisscovery needs to know your university affiliation.

    SLSP registration platform

    In the SLSP registration platform you have to confirm that your SWITCH edu-ID account will be transferred to SLSP for use in swisscovery, review the data which will be transferred and optionally add a library card barcode.

    Visit https://registration.slsp.ch and log in with your SWITCH edu-ID account. After successful login, SWITCH will display the information which will be transferred to SLSP.

    Screenshot of edu-ID user consent

    After accepting the data transfer, you will be forwarded to the SLSP registration platform. Here you can review the data which is being transferred to swisscovery after accepting the terms of use of SLSP.

    Screenshot of the SLSP terms of use

    Optionally, you can add your library card barcode which you were previously using to your account. Please note that for university members, the barcode on your university ID card might be automatically transferred if you linked your SWITCH edu-ID account to your university affiliation.

    Please activate the checkbox "Terms of Use" and finish the registration process by clicking on the button "Register".

    Question: What do I need to do if the registration platform is displaying error messages about missing data?

    Screenshot of missing data

    When creating a SWITCH edu-ID account, only a valid e-mail address is required. However, SLSP requires some additional data in your account before your account can be used in swisscovery in order for the libraries to efficiently manage your requests and loans. The following information is required:

    • Your name (to identify library users)

    • Your birthdate (to distinguish between users with identical names and to ensure that age-related content can be lent to a person)

    • At least one phone number (to contact the user in case of problems)

    • At least one postal address (to deliver borrowed books via post and as a contact address if the e-mail address is not valid anymore)

    Please add this information to your SWITCH edu-ID account. You can use the links provided below the error messages to add the missing data right away. After adding the required data, the registration can be completed.

    Question: Why do I get the following message when I'm trying to register with SLSP?

    Screenshot of already registered user message

    This message appears if you have previously registered with swisscovery. You only have to register with SLSP once to use swisscovery and other SLSP services. To access swisscovery directly, please visit https://swisscovery.slsp.ch

    Question: I forgot to add a barcode during the initial registration for SLSP. How can I do this later?
    You can manage your library card barcodes on https://registration.slsp.ch/register/library-card

    Screenshot of library card management page

    Question: I've tried to add a library barcode, however the barcode is not accepted. What can I do? There are two possible reasons:

    • The barcode you entered is already in use by another user. If you are sure that this card belongs to you, please contact one of the SLSP libraries.

    • The barcode entered is not structured correctly. The registration platform checks whether the barcode conforms to the specifications for barcodes currently used by the SLSP libraries. If you are sure that you entered a correct barcode, please contact one of the SLSP libraries.

    Question: What can I do if I can't remove my library barcode. Library card numbers added by organizations (e.g. university) cannot be removed directly. You need to contact the organization you are affiliated with and ask their helpdesk to remove the barcode for you.

    Login to swisscovery

    After successful registration of your SWITCH edu-ID account, you can use it to directly log into swisscovery. You don't need to visit the registration platform after initial registration.

    Question: Why does the error message "Login has failed" appear when trying to log into swisscovery?

    Screenshot of failed edu-ID login

    This means either the e-mail address or the password entered for your SWITCH edu-ID account is not correct. To reset your password, please visit https://eduid.ch/web/reset-password/

    Question: What can I do if my e-mail address and password are accepted when trying to log into swisscovery, however swisscovery displays the following error message:

    Screenshot of error when user has not registered yet

    This message appears if the credentials for your SWITCH edu-ID account were correct, however you did not yet register with swisscovery. Please visit https://registration.slsp.ch/ and start your registration with your SWITCH edu-ID account. If a message appears that you already successfully registered and you still get the above error when trying to log into swisscovery, please contact one of the SLSP libraries for further assistance.

    Question: How can I change my password for swisscovery?

    As you are using your SWITCH edu-ID account to log into swisscovery, please visit https://eduid.ch/web/change-password/ to change your SWITCH edu-ID password. As soon as the password is changed, you can use the new password to log into swisscovery.edu-ID password. As soon as the password is changed, you can use the new password when login into swisscovery.

    Question: How can I reset my swisscovery password?

    As you are using your SWITCH edu-ID account to log into swisscovery, please visit https://eduid.ch/web/reset-password/ to reset your SWITCH edu-ID password. As soon as the password is changed, you can use the new password to log into swisscovery.

Page d'aide / FAQ sur la plateforme d'enregistrement des usagers

Page d'aide / FAQ

Afin d'utiliser swisscovery et SLSP courier, vous devez vous enregistrer auprès de la SLSP. Pour cela, vous aurez besoin d'un compte SWITCH edu-ID. Les comptes SWITCH edu-ID peuvent être utilisés dans le cadre d'autres services tels que SWITCHdrive, SWITCHfilesender et SWITCHtube ainsi que pour accéder aux services proposés par les universités suisses - vous possédez peut-être déjà un compte que vous pouvez réutiliser pour la SLSP, notamment si vous êtes membre d'une université suisse.

Si vous possédez déjà un compte SWITCH edu-ID, vous pouvez aller directement sur la plateforme d'enregistrement SLSP et utiliser votre compte edu-ID pour lancer l'enregistrement.

Si vous ne possédez pas de compte SWITCH edu-ID, vous pouvez cliquer sur le bouton «Créer un compte» lorsque vous essayez de vous connecter à la plateforme d'enregistrement SLSP ou aller directement sur https://eduid.ch/web/registration/ pour créer un compte.

Une fois enregistré(e) sur la SLSP, vous pouvez utiliser votre compte SWITCH edu-ID dans toutes les bibliothèques SLSP (il n'y a plus de comptes séparés par bibliothèque ou par réseau).

Foire aux questions

    Enregistrement des usagers

    Question : Pourquoi ai-je besoin d'un compte SWITCH edu-ID pour utiliser les services de la SLSP ? Le service SWITCH edu-ID permet à tous les étudiants, membres du personnel des institutions d'enseignement supérieur et autres usagers des bibliothèques d'accéder à de nombreux services à l'aide d'un seul compte utilisateur. Au lieu de demander aux usagers des bibliothèques de créer encore un compte, la SLSP a décidé de compter sur le service SWITCH edu-ID.

    Question : Quelles sont les conditions pour créer un compte SWITCH edu-ID ? Les comptes SWITCH edu-ID peuvent être créés gratuitement par toute personne qui souhaite utiliser la SLSP ou d'autres services proposés par des institutions d'enseignement supérieur suisses. La seule condition est de posséder une adresse e-mail valide.
    Pour s'enregistrer auprès de swisscovery, les données supplémentaires suivantes sont nécessaires :

    • Votre nom (pour identifier les usagers des bibliothèques)

    • Votre date de naissance (pour différencier des usagers portant des noms identiques et pour s'assurer que des contenus soumis à des restrictions d'âge peuvent être prêtés à une personne).

    • Au moins un numéro de téléphone (pour contacter l'usager en cas de problèmes)

    • Au moins une adresse postale (pour livrer les livres empruntés par la poste et comme adresse de contact si l'adresse e-mail n'est plus valide).

    Question : Qu'en est-il des usagers à l'étranger (en dehors de la Suisse) ? Les usagers qui n'ont pas d'adresse postale en Suisse peuvent également créer un compte SWITCH edu-ID. Veuillez noter qu'en fonction de votre lieu de résidence, les bibliothèques SLSP peuvent ne vous proposer que des services limités.

    Question : J'aimerais créer un compte pour ma société/mon institution/ma bibliothèque. Est-ce possible ? SWITCH edu-ID ne peut être utilisé que pour des comptes personnels. Si vous avez besoin d'un compte professionnel pour votre société/institution/bibliothèque, demandez un compte à la SLSP en écrivant à swisscovery@slsp.ch. Tout comme les comptes personnels, les comptes professionnels peuvent être utilisés dans toutes les bibliothèques SLSP.

    Question : Je n'ai pas d'adresse e-mail. Comment puis-je continuer à utiliser swisscovery ? L'inscription à swisscovery nécessite une adresse e-mail. Si vous n'avez pas d'adresse e-mail ou que vous ne pouvez pas l'utiliser pour l'enregistrement dans SWITCH edu-ID, vous pouvez demander de l’aide à votre bibliothèque pour la création d'une adresse e-mail. Certaines bibliothèques offrent également la possibilité de s'inscrire sans adresse e-mail. Toutefois, dans ces cas exceptionnels, swisscovery ne peut être utilisé qu'avec des droits restreints (pas de livraison de documents à domicile, pas de service de courrier, etc.).

    Créer / gérer un compte SWITCH edu-ID

    Consultez https://help.switch.ch/eduid/faqs/?lang=fr pour voir les instructions ainsi qu'un FAQ concernant la création et la gestion de votre compte SWITCH edu-ID. Si vous avez des problèmes avec votre compte SWITCH edu-ID, contactez SWITCH directement en écrivant à eduid-support@switch.ch.

    Pour vérifier votre compte ou mettre à jour vos données dans votre compte SWITCH edu-ID, connectez-vous à l'administration de compte SWITCH edu-ID : https://eduid.ch/

    Si vous êtes étudiant ou employé d'une université, vous pouvez associer votre compte SWITCH edu-ID à votre identité au sein de l'université pendant la création de votre compte (ou ultérieurement) :

    Capture d'écran du lien du compte

    Question : Qu'arrive-t-il à mon compte swisscovery si je mets à jour mes données dans SWITCH edu-ID ? Les mises à jour de données pertinentes pour swisscovery sont automatiquement transférées lorsque vous modifiez, ajoutez ou supprimez vos données dans l'administration de votre compte SWITCH edu-ID. Cela peut prendre jusqu'à 5 minutes et les modifications ne peuvent être visibles qu'après une reconnexion à swisscovery.

    Question : Pourquoi devrais-je associer mon compte SWITCH edu-ID à mon identité au sein de l'université ? Principalement pour deux raisons :

    • Si votre université vous fournit une carte d'étudiant/d'employé que vous pouvez utiliser comme carte de bibliothèque et si votre université fournit ces informations à SWITCH edu-ID, ces données peuvent être transférées à la SLSP. Cela vous permet d'utiliser votre carte immédiatement dans toutes les bibliothèques SLSP sans que vous ayez à ajouter vous-même le code-barres pendant l'enregistrement ou au bureau de bibliothèque.

    • Certaines bibliothèques SLSP imposent le respect de conditions aux membres des universités. Dans ce cadre, swisscovery a besoin de connaître votre affiliation au sein de votre université.

    Plateforme d'enregistrement SLSP

    Sur la plateforme d'enregistrement SLSP, vous devez confirmer que votre compte SWITCH edu-ID sera transféré à la SLSP afin d'être utilisé dans swisscovery, vérifier les données qui seront transférées et éventuellement ajouter un code-barres de carte de bibliothèque.

    Allez sur https://registration.slsp.ch et connectez-vous à votre compte SWITCH edu-ID. Une fois la connexion réussie, SWITCH affichera les informations qui seront transférées à la SLSP.

    Capture d'écran du consentement de l'utilisateur de l'edu-ID

    Une fois le transfert de données accepté, vous serez redirigé(e) vers la plateforme d'enregistrement SLSP. Vous pourrez y vérifier les données transférées vers swisscovery après avoir accepté les conditions d'utilisation de la SLSP.

    Capture d'écran des conditions d'utilisation du SLSP

    Vous pouvez éventuellement ajouter le code-barres de votre carte de bibliothèque que vous utilisiez auparavant à votre compte. Veuillez noter que pour les membres des universités, le code-barres situé sur la carte d'identité de l'université peut être automatiquement transféré si vous associez votre compte SWITCH edu-ID à votre affiliation au sein de l'université.

    Veuillez cocher la case «Conditions d'utilisation» et terminer le processus d'enregistrement en cliquant sur le bouton «S'inscrire».

    Question : Que dois-je faire si la plateforme d'enregistrement affiche des messages d'erreur concernant des données manquantes ?

    Capture d'écran

    Lors de la création d'un compte SWITCH edu-ID, seule une adresse e-mail valide est requise. Toutefois, SLSP requiert d'intégrer quelques données supplémentaires dans votre compte avant qu'il puisse être utilisé dans swisscovery afin que les bibliothèques puissent gérer efficacement vos demandes et vos prêts. Les informations suivantes sont requises :

    • Votre nom (pour identifier les usagers des bibliothèques)

    • Votre date de naissance (pour différencier des usagers portant des noms identiques et pour s'assurer que des contenus soumis à des restrictions d'âge peuvent être prêtés à une personne).

    • Au moins un numéro de téléphone (pour contacter l'usager en cas de problèmes)

    • Au moins une adresse postale (pour livrer les livres empruntés par la poste et comme adresse de contact si l'adresse e-mail n'est plus valide).

    Veuillez ajouter ces informations à votre compte SWITCH edu-ID. Vous pouvez utiliser le lien indiqué sous le message d'erreur pour ajouter immédiatement les données manquantes. Une fois les données requises ajoutées, l'enregistrement peut être terminé.

    Question : Pourquoi est-ce que j'obtiens le message suivant lorsque j'essaye de m'enregistrer à la SLSP?

    Capture d'écran

    Ce message apparait si vous vous êtes précédemment enregistré(e) à swisscovery. Vous devez uniquement vous enregistrer à la SLSP une fois pour utiliser swisscovery et d'autres services SLSP. Pour accéder directement à swisscovery, allez sur https://swisscovery.slsp.ch/

    Question : J'ai oublié d'ajouter un code-barres pendant l'enregistrement initial dans la SLSP. Comment puis-je le faire ultérieurement ?
    Vous pouvez gérer les codes-barres de votre carte de bibliothèques sur https://registration.slsp.ch/register/library-card/

    Capture d'écran

    Question : J'ai essayé d'ajouter un code-barres de bibliothèque, mais celui-ci n'est pas accepté. Que puis-je faire ? Cela peut avoir deux causes :

    • Le code-barres que vous avez saisi est déjà utilisé par un autre usager. Si vous êtes sûr(e) que cette carte vous appartient, contactez l'une des bibliothèques SLSP.

    • La structure du code-barre saisi est incorrecte. La plateforme d'enregistrement vérifie si le code-barres possède la structure des codes-barres actuellement utilisés par les bibliothèques SLSP. Si vous êtes sûr(e) d'avoir saisi un code-barres correct, contactez l'une des bibliothèques SLSP.

    Question : Que puis-je faire si je ne peux pas supprimer mon code-barres de bibliothèque? Les numéros de carte de bibliothèque ajoutés par des organisations (p.ex. université) ne peuvent pas être supprimés directement. Vous devez contacter l'organisation à laquelle vous êtes affilié(e) et demander au service d'assistance de supprimer le code-barres pour vous.

    Se connecter à swisscovery

    Après vous être connecté(e) à votre compte SWITCH edu-ID, vous pouvez l'utiliser pour vous connecter directement à swisscovery. Vous n'avez pas besoin de vous rendre sur la plateforme d'enregistrement après l'enregistrement initial.

    Question : Pourquoi le message d'erreur suivant apparaît-il lorsque j'essaye de me connecter à swisscovery?

    Capture d'écran

    Cela signifie que soit l'adresse e-mail soit le mot de passe saisi pour votre compte SWITCH edu-ID est incorrect. Pour réinitialiser votre mot de passe, allez sur https://eduid.ch/web/reset-password/

    Question : Que puis-je faire lorsque mon adresse e-mail et mon mot de passe sont acceptés lorsque j'essaye de me connecter à swisscovery, mais que swisscovery affiche le message d'erreur suivant :

    Capture d'écran

    Ce message apparaît si les identifiants de votre compte SWITCH edu-ID sont corrects, mais que vous n'êtes pas encore enregistré(e) dans swisscovery. Allez sur https://registration.slsp.ch/ et enregistrez-vous avec votre compte SWITCH edu-ID. Si un message indiquant que votre enregistrement a bien été effectué apparaît et que vous obtenez toujours le message d'erreur ci-dessus lorsque vous essayez de vous connecter à swisscovery, contactez une des bibliothèques SLSP.

    Question : Comment puis-je modifier mon mot de passe dans swisscovery?

    Comme vous utilisez votre compte SWITCH edu-ID pour vous connecter à swisscovery, allez sur https://eduid.ch/web/change-password/ pour modifier votre mot de passe SWITCH edu-ID. Dès que votre mot de passe est modifié, vous pouvez utiliser le nouveau mot de passe pour vous connecter à swisscovery.

    Question : Comment puis-je réinitialiser mon mot de passe swisscovery?

    Comme vous utilisez votre compte SWITCH edu-ID pour vous connecter à swisscovery, allez sur https://eduid.ch/web/reset-password/ pour modifier votre mot de passe SWITCH edu-ID. Dès que votre mot de passe est modifié, vous pouvez utiliser le nouveau mot de passe pour vous connecter à swisscovery.